Permanent Smile On My Face

This morning I wake up feeling as if I’ve lost something or someone. It is a grievance. For a number of weeks now I have been struggling with trying to put all my ideas from notes/my head into my actual novel without sounding dull or giving a tsunami of information.

Half ten. My friend (Adam!) mentions a show at the Edinburgh Fringe that I would be interested in.

Eleven hours later I am standing at a microphone, severely conscious of my own words booming out from massive loudspeakers to an audience of three or four hundred and seeking writing advice from none other than the fantastic Mr Stephen Moffat.

I know you won’t read this, but thank you. I’m very grateful and aim to heed your advice.

Keep Writing!

~ by S.G. Mark on August 22, 2013.

3 Responses to “Permanent Smile On My Face”

  1. I was at the show; your question was by far the best (and elicited the best answer).

    Kind regards,
    JB

  2. I was at the show too. Good question. Generous answer. Thank you for so bravely getting up to ask it from one who would not dare.
    All the best, Rose.

  3. Thanks guys!

    Got home that night and started writing!

    Please feel free to have a wee look at some of the stories I wrote over the course of the year. Not all of them are that bad! All written by midnight each day. Quickest one was done in 12 minutes so that could be dodgy. Also some were written half asleep, on trains, halfway up mountains and, regrettably, whilst a tiny bit drunk.

    I’ll be paying more attention to this blog in future – so if you want to follow me that’d be cool. Should be producing something on Amazon self publishing within the next few months!

Leave a comment